Some Tweaking Required

Editing and adjusting digital images has become so integral to our culture that we have created a verb out of the most popular image editing software.  “I can photoshop it.”  and “That’s been photoshopped” have become very common parts of our vernacular.  The ubiquity of editing images has fueled a continuous debate over whether or not a photographer should edit their photographs.  I’m not going to enter that debate any farther than to say it is your decision if you think you should or shouldn’t edit your images.  I edit every image I publish.  If the picture is going to be seen by anyone other than me or my wife, I edit it.  I may not do anything more than boost the saturation and crop the picture or I may do extensive editing, even to the removing of significant details from the original.  My reasoning is simple, nothing is perfect, and no camera is able to accurately capture the range of information that the eye captures.  Often things in the original take away from the focus and story I am trying to communicate.  Sometimes I look at the picture on the computer and realize I should have composed it differently.  By editing the picture, I can put back into the scene some of what I saw that the camera couldn’t or didn’t record and I can fix some of the mistakes I made in the process.  My aim in editing the image is to bring into line with where I want it to be.  I want to make the image as pleasing as possible to myself so that as I present it to others it becomes an accurate reflection of my vision for that scene.

In similar fashion, the Christian life requires much editing.  A children’s song proclaims, “He’s still working on me, to make me what I ought to be.”  The life of a Christian should be one of continual tweaking.  At the moment of our salvation, God declared us righteous in heaven and washed away all of our sin. The problems is, we don’t look like it right now.  The gulf between the eternal, heavenly accomplishment and my daily life is usually so vast the Grand Canyon looks like a sidewalk crack by comparison.  The difference between what we are in Christ and what we are in life can be incredibly discouraging.  The heart at times shrinks back in fear from the work and sacrifice necessary to come anywhere close to the perfection produced in us by our Savior.  However, God is not willing to leave us as we were.   He sets us apart for Himself and begins to work in us so that we are being changed.  He works to make us something that genuinely reflects His skill and His vision as our Savior, Creator and Master.  Thank God for His “photoshopping” in our life.

Nikon D80 60mm f/15 1/100 sec. ISO-200

Comments are disabled.

