What’s your Style?

Despite the rather busy pace of this summer, which has been reflected in my inability to post more than once or twice in the last several months, I have continued to read and ponder (and every so often practice) photography. One thing that has been in my mind is the matter of personal style. Style can be described as characteristics of your photographs that make them yours and somewhat unique from all others. This is the kind of photography you find most appealing to your aesthetic sensibility as well the kind of photography you strive most to achieve. Style is a pretty good reflection of you as well, interjecting into every image a little bit of you and how you view life- or at least that particular scene. In the course of the last few years I have been attempting to define and refine what I consider my style. I have finally got it nailed in my mind, though I am sure it will be revised and refined further over the years ahead. I would call my style and preferences a bit of uber realism. I don’t like black and white. I don’t like grainy, gritty, textured, washed out, faded, vignetted, sepiaed or desaturated images. I like rich colors, clear contrasts, bright venues and sharp details. If you have perused this site much you probably have noticed those similarities in many of my shots.

That’s my style. What’s yours? If you don’t know and are serious about developing as a photographer, I would suggest you start working to find out. Don’t expect to discover it overnight. You may have a midnight epiphany, but it’s more likely that you will figure out the old fashioned way, by hard work. Two things will help you. First, look at a lot of pictures and read a lot of “how to’s”. You will see techniques explained and displayed and in doing so you will make determinations on what you do and don’t like. What you like is probably what you will imitate. So secondly you need to shoot, a lot. You need to shoot for yourself. Not just trying to capture moments at a family get together. Shoot for things that you want to capture. Shoot for the fun of it. Shoot to try something out, to experiment and have fun. Over the course of time you will find that you naturally lean one direction. Don’t stifle that because someone else’s images are more popular at this moment. Fads change. Find what you like, practice it and improve it so that your style comes through in your pictures.

Nikon D80 60mm f/25 1/50 sec. ISO-200

Comments are disabled.

