To His Praise

<i>"Ye should show forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvelous light."<p>1 Peter 2:9

"Ye should show forth the praises of Him who hath called you out of darkness into His marvelous light."1 Peter 2:9

A particular string of verses have been impressing themselves more and more on my mind. Let me share a few of the salient parts, “you that were sometime alienated and enemies in your minds by wicked works.” (Colossians 1:21) “For we ourselves also were sometimes foolish, disobedient, deceived, serving divers lusts and pleasures, living in malice and envy, hateful and hating one another.” (Titus 3:3) “You . . . were dead in trespasses and sins; Wherein in time past ye walked according to the course of this world, according to the power of the air, the spirit that now worketh in the children of disobedience: among whom also we all had our conversation in times pasts in the lusts of the flesh, fulfilling the desires of the flesh and of the mind; and were by nature the children of wrath.” (Ephesians 2:1-3) These verses have pushed themselves deeper and deeper into my heart and consciousness because they serve as a perpetual reminder of how totally depraved I naturally am, how desperately hopeless I was before salvation and how deeply grateful I must be to God for saving me. I was not a horribly wicked person saved after a life of perversion and abandon. Quite the opposite, I was a decent kid who followed basic Biblical principles and morals for as long as I can recall (which sometimes isn’t past yesterday). Despite my decent and even Biblical conduct, prior to Christ I was self centered, pride filled, depraved and condemned by God for my wickedness. Then God stepped into my life, and through the blood of Christ I was made a new creature. I was “delivered from the power of darkness, and . . . translated into the kingdom of His dear Son.” This all happened so that I could lift up His praise in front of this dark world. I am not alone in that great privilege. Every single Christian has been delivered from the same filth and condemnation so that they can each show to the world around them the incredible praises of God. “Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.” (Matthew 5:16) What kind of wattage are you putting out?

Nikon D80 60mm 1/100 sec F/13 ISO-200

Comments are disabled.